Moses McConnell, Tennessee Unionist

Looking through my list of categories, I realize that I need to fill-in some gaps. Georgia, Louisiana, South Carolina, and Tennessee are without representation among Southern Unionists so far.  

So, for starters, I’m adding representation for Tennessee in an abstract from Moses McConnell’s claim. Born ca. 1813, McConnell owned a farm about eight miles from Maryville, in Blount County, Tennessee. The following is taken from McDonnell’s claim application:

I was abused a good deal but I do not remember of being threatened with personal violence. A part of Rebel soldiers in the fall of 1862 threatened to take a mare from me on account of my son having gone to the Federal Army in Kentucky. On this occasion, they denounced me for being a Union man. This occurred on my farm near Maryville, Tenn.

I was injured by the Rebels taking my property without compensation. I suppose my property was taken on account of my Union sentiments as they generally paid Rebels for what property they took from them. Also when they took my property they generally denounced me as a Union man.

When my son left home in Oct. 1862 for the federal Army in Kentucky, I gave him money, clothing and a gun. I also furnished other Union men at the same time with the provision to enable them to go to the federal Army in Kentucky.

I influenced my son and a good many other young men to go into the union Army at different times during the war. After the federal Army occupied East Tenn., I often gave information to Officers and soldiers of said Army about the roads & Early in the war I belonged to a Union home guard which was organized for purposes of mutual protection among Union men. After the occupation of East Tenn. by the federal Army I joined an organization called National Guard which was organized under the authority of Maj. Genl. Burnside for the purpose of assisting the Union Army as scouts, pilots, & etc. I was so engaged about two years. I also contributed wood and provisions to the families of Union men who were in the federal Army.

I had nephews named Thomas and Moses McConnell in the Confederate Army – no other near relatives. They lived in the State of Georgia. I do not know where they are now living or not as I have not heard from them since the war. I contributed nothing to them.

At the beginning of the rebellion my sympathies were with the Union cause. I felt I deserved the success of the union cause, and that I would do all I could to further it. I so expressed myself and always contended that the Union Cause was right and that the rebellion should be crushed.

I advocated the cause of the federal Govt. and done all I could to induce persons to vote against secession. I voted against “Convention” in February and against “Separation” in June 1861. I adhered to the Union after the secession of my State.

5 Responses to “Moses McConnell, Tennessee Unionist”

  1. Was Moses McConnell’s claim approved?

    • Yes, his claim was approved. I will be following up in a few days with another claim from another McConnell from the same county. Still trying to figure out the connection between the two, but both served in the area “National Guard.”

  2. don mcconnell Says:

    I was somewhat shocked to find that Moses was a northern backer. News to me, but news of family helps with the total picture.

    • Shocked, but sounds like you are fine with it. The bottom line is that, as a Southerner, when finding a Southern Unionist and reacting in an open-minded way and appreciating them as much as you would a Confederate ancestor, you open up a brand new range of appreciation for our rich and complex Southern culture.

  3. Kathryn Says:

    Hi, I came across your post here while doing some research on my genealogy. I’m wondering if you have any more info/sources on this Moses McConnell? I suspect he’s the same Moses Lamar McConnell to whom I am distantly related. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 581 other followers

