A visit to the American Civil War Center

On Saturday afternoon, I had the opportunity to visit the American Civil War Center, and, as one who is in search of how Southern Unionists are represented in reflections of the Civil War, I began my walk-through anticipating what I might find. While an interesting and different way to present the history of the war and, perhaps more importantly, how it has been “remembered,” I was incredibly disappointed that Southern Unionists were in no way represented. I found an exhibit showing a butternut badge (Southern-sympathizing Northerners), saw the mention of Copperheads, and I even saw a quote (more or less, if the South loses the war, it will be because of the Southern people, or actually lack of support from them), but not once was the phrase “Southern Unionist” used! Did I miss something??? If not, I’m shocked at the absence.

I realize that I am pro-active in seeing the history of Southern Unionists brought into the overall story of the war, most especially with the Sesquicentennial on our doorstep, but really… for a museum that challenges the way that we “remember” the Civil War, it seems there should be something in there. The experience has left me even more determined to find museums that actually recognize Southern Unionists in some form of fashion. I know one exists here in the Valley (The Valley Brethren-Mennonite Heritage Center), but Southern Unionists were by no means limited to those who based their position on religious dissent. I also think the Museum of the Shenandoah Valley mentions Southern Unionists, but will have to take a look at their exhibit there again (I think it also tells the story of Southern Unionists from the same angle as the Valley Brethren-Mennonite Heritage Center). So, really, how many museums actually mention Southern Unionists and the role that they played in the war? It’s strange, but I’m finding more mention of Southern Unionists in historical markers across the landscape than I am in museums. I wonder why that is.

This entry is dual-posted at Cenantua’s Blog.

3 Responses to “A visit to the American Civil War Center”

  1. [...] This entry is dual-posted at Southern Unionists Chronicles. Possibly related posts: (automatically generated)A family’s historical memory‚Ķ of a Hessian ancestorPortrayal of African American Soldiers During the Civil WarAmerican Civil War Manuscripts – Virginia Tech [...]

    • Marilyn Marme Says:

      Robert, I have brought up the issue of how Southern Unionists will be represented to the Virginia Civil War Sesquentiennal committee and received a vague brush-off reply, which seemed to indicate it will be an afterthought at best. I am trying to organize a private family Sesquicentennial Memorial to William D Fitzgerald, a civilian Virginian Unionist, who died in 1863 at Castle Thunder. Perhaps the prisoner list there would be a good place to begin. Hopefully you and other Southern Unionist historian can ensure the real story gets told.

  2. I get the same feeling, Marilyn. I don’t think that the topic will be given much attention during the Sesquicentennial. What concerns me is that the status quo will remain just that… people thinking that “Southern Heritage” equates to Confederate heritage, thereby forgetting anyone who was Southern and thought otherwise.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 659 other followers

