Remember… Marylanders were Southerners too!

But, before you break out in song with “Maryland, My Maryland,” just remember, the song does not reflect the feelings of all Marylanders in 1861. Many a Marylander can be classified as a Southern Unionist. With that in mind, I am going to redirect reader attention to a series of posts (begining with this one) on my main blog for a little while, where I am focusing on the unique story of Southern Unionism that existed in Maryland. I’m focusing, in particular, on a district in Washington County, Maryland.

2 Responses to “Remember… Marylanders were Southerners too!”

  1. Larry Denton Says:

    Robert Moore.
    I am a Civil War lecturer and author. My latest work, William Henry Seward and the Secession Crisis: The Effort to Prevent Civil War, has just been released by McFarland & Co., Publishers. To promote the work, I present a lecture, Could the Civil War Have Been Prevented?, where I discuss in some depth the role of Southern Unionists during the secession winter. Dan Crofts, author of Reluctant confederates, has been a key advisor.
    For the lecture, I rely heavily on data compiled by William Freehling (The South vs The South & Road to Disunion, Vol. II). I just read the sidebar in Civil War Times (Dec. 2009, p.18) and would like to correspond with you relative to the numbers. My ‘gut’ feel after spending a couple of decades researching this issue is that there were even more Southern Unionists than Freehling has identified.
    Any comments or insights you may have would be welcomed. Hope to meet you someday.
    Larry Denton

    • Mr. Denton, Terribly sorry to have missed your comment. I just realized that it slipped into the spam folder. Fortunately, I found it before pressing the delete key. I too have the feeling that the numbers of Southern Unionists has been far underestimated. Of course, I also think that it will be near to impossible determining an exact number. There are so many Southerners who joined Union units, with no clear information in the military file that they were Southerners. In some cases, we are very fortunate to have detailed information, and perhaps a pension record. Still, for those Southerners who may have died in the service, with nobody filing a pension (widow’s or mother’s), even in this case, I think many might fall through the cracks. On another note, I think we also need to keep in mind that many Marylanders considered themselves culturally Southern, yet, I don’t think everyone has considered those Marylanders who served the Union among Southern Unionists.

      There are also some fine lines in defining Southern Unionism, and I think that the measurement of Unionism varies. Keying on a theory developed by someone else, sometime ago, I’ve started developing a tiered system defining Southern Unionists and their respective levels of Unionism. Still, I think it is hard to distinguish between some of those who showed evidence of Unionism and those who simply wanted to be left alone by both sides. It’s a fascinating subject, and I’m always interested in exchanging comments with those who are interested in understanding it further. I’d be delighted in hearing more from you.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 661 other followers

