Leroy C. Gilbert of Rockbridge County, Virginia

Portions of the Southern Claims Commission Application for Leroy C. Gilbert. Deposition taken 16 July 1872.
 
Gilbert resided in Rockbridge County, Va., “ all the war on my farm, my farm contains 50 acres, 40 acres of it is cleared land. I did not leave the State during the war.”

Q5 – “I took the amnesty oath after the war at the Natural Bridge in Rockbridge Co., Va. I had nothing to be pardoned for.”

Q24 – “I never was arrested by either government.”

Q25 – “I had bacon taken by the Confederate authorities. I received no pay for it.”

Q26 – “I was threatened to be taken to Castle Thunder because I talked too much in favor of the United States.”

Q29 – “I had no chance to do any thing for the US Government.”

Q30 – “I had four sons, one half- brother in the Confederate army; names of my sons were John [C, 1st Va Cav], James [E, 52nd], Leroy [?] & Andrew [Co. E, 52nd); name of my half-brother was Ezekiel Gilbert [C, 1st Va Cav]. Two of my sons John [died at home on Broad Creek of disease 12/20/62]and James [died of wounds received at Gettysburg] were killed in the Confederate army; the other two, Leroy and Andrew are living in Rockbridge County, Va. My brother was killed [5/26/64, Kennon’s Farm] in the Confederate army. I furnished them with no military equipments money or clothing. They volunteered without my approbation.”

Q40 – “I sympathized with Union at the beginning of the war and not with the Rebellion. I neither voted for or against the ordinance of secession. I held to the stars and stripes during the whole war.”

Q41 – “From the beginning of the war to the end I desired to see the Government put down the rebellion…”

In support of Gilbert’s deposition, Eli Swartz testified…

I reside on the adjoining farm during the war. I saw him often, talked to him about the war very frequently. He was bitterly opposed to the war. I heard him say that if he could keep his sons out of the Confederate army he would do it. I think he was a Union man if there was one on the South. He was regarded as a Union man by his neighbors. I do not know how he voted upon the ordinance of secession or that he voted at all. I heard Capt. McClintock say that he ought to be watched, that he was a dangerous man to the South. I do not know that he owned any Confederate bonds do not think he did anything to support the credit of the C.S. Do not know that he gave any information to any U.S. officer. I think I have heard him say that if the South gained her independence he could not remain here.

Also in support of Gilbert’s deposition, William B. Miller testified…

I have known the claimant 30 years, I live very near him, I saw him often during the war. I conversed with him about the war frequently. I heard him say once that he wished all the Confederate officers were in Hell. I heard him say that he opposed the war that he would have his right arm cut off before he would vote for the ordinance of secession. I regarded him as a Union man, he was looked upon as a Union man by his neighbors (loyal). I heard that the Confederates had threatened to hang him because he was a Union man.

Leave a Reply

