The Story of Stephen C. Sanders

“At the beginning of the Rebellion, I sympathized with the Union cause. My language was for the Union and against secession. I voted against secession and excerted my influence against it. After the State seceded, I remained a Union man. I never got rebelish at all.”

A North Carolinian by birth, by the time of the Civil War, Stephen C. Sanders was living in Cane Hill Township in Washington County, Arkansas. Though his sons, Levi Thomas and Isom Hurney, joined the Confederate army, Sanders held to his convictions and remained a Union man. For the rest of Stephen C. Sanders story, see this link at the Stephen Sanders Research Group.

Leave a Reply

